STROUD DISTRICT COUNCIL

COUNCIL

21 JULY 2022

Report Title	APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND POSITIONS
Purpose of Report	To update the allocation of seats in accordance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and appoint changes to membership of committees and appointments with effect from 21 July 2022.
Decision(s)	The Council RESOLVES to approve the changes to committee membership and positions as set out in the report and appendix.
Consultation and Feedback	The proposed appointments have been subject to consultation with the relevant Group Leaders.
Legal Implications	The Council is required to appoint Councillors to committees in accordance with the proportionality rules.
Report Author	Jenna Day, Senior Democratic Services & Elections Officer Email: jenna.day@stroud.gov.uk Hannah Emery, Corporate Policy & Governance Manager Email: hannah.emery@stroud.gov.uk
Options	Members may make alternative nominations to the places available on committees subject to compliance with the allocation rules.
Appendices	Appendix A – Tables showing changes to committee membership and appointments (Document To Follow)

1. Political Composition

The Council consists of a number of political groupings. The various groups comprise the following Members.

Conservative Group Councillors (19)						
Jason Bullingham	Nick Housden	Loraine Patrick				
Gordan Craig	Nick Hurst	Keith Pearson				
Stephen Davies	Julie Job	Mark Ryder				
Trina Davis	Haydn Jones	Haydn Sutton				
Chris Evans	John Jones	Brian Tipper				
Victoria Gray	David Mossman					
Lindsey Green	Gill Oxley					
Green Group Councillors (13)						
Beki Aldam	Jonathan Edmunds	Lucas Schoemaker				
Martin Baxendale	Steve Hynd	Chloe Turner				
Catherine Braun	Chris Jockel	Tricia Watson				
Martin Brown	Norman Kay					
Kate Crews	Martin Pearcy					
Labour Group Councillors	(11)					
Paula Baker	Helen Fenton	Steve Robinson				
Natalie Bennett	Jessie Hoskin	Mattie Ross				
Chris Brine	Jenny Miles	Ashley Smith				
Laurie Davies	Nigel Prenter					

Community Independent Group Councillors (4)						
Doina Cornell	Colin Fryer Trevor Hall					
Robin Layfield						
SDC Liberal Democrat Group Councillors (3)						
George James	Ken Tucker	Rich Wilsher				

<u>Note:</u> In addition to the above, there is one Independent Member, namely, Councillor Nigel Studdert-Kennedy (known as 'Conservative - No Group').

2. Committees

The committees which are subject to political balance requirements currently comprise the following.

Committee	No. of Members on the committee		
Community Services & Licensing	12		
Environment	13		
Housing	12		
Strategy and Resources	13		
Audit & Standards	9		
Development Control	12		

3. Allocations to committees subject to political balance requirements

The seats on each committee must be allocated to each political group as required by the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. On the basis of the existing committee structure, the changes to the political balance and following discussions with the relevant Group Leaders, the allocations are as set out below (changes have been highlighted in red).

Total no. of councillors 51	Conservative (19 Cllrs)	Green (13 Clirs)	Labour (11 Cllrs)	Community Independents (4 Cllrs)	Liberal Democrats (3 Cllrs)	Total seats available
Community Services & Licensing	4	3	3	1	1	12
Environment	5	4	2	1	1	13
Development Control	5	3	4	0	0	12
Strategy & Resources	5	3	3	1	1	13
Housing	4	3	4	1	0	12
Audit & Standards	4	2	2	0	1	9
Seats to be allocated per Group	27	18	18	4	4	71

- 3.2 Committee Memberships were agreed at the Council Annual Meeting on 19 May 2022. The agreed nominations will be shown in the tables in Appendix A which will be published at a later date.
- 3.3 Due to the change to the political balance following the formation of a new political group, nominations received by Democratic Services from Group Leaders will be

reported in Appendix A or otherwise made at the Council Meeting. Appendix A will be circulated prior to the Council Meeting on the 21 July 2022.

4. Standards Sub-Committee

- 4.1 So far as the Standards Sub-Committee is concerned, due to the availability and other commitments of individuals on the Sub-Committee, it is proving difficult to identify a convenient time for the next meeting. As the Sub-Committee has a quasi-judicial function and it is necessary for there to be an Independent Person and a Town & Parish Council representative present, it is suggested that deputies for those members of the Sub-Committee be appointed.
- 4.2 Council is therefore asked to appoint deputies for the designated Independent Person and/or the Town & Parish Council representative on the Standards Sub-Committee in the event that they are not able to attend future meetings. On that basis, it is recommended that John Acton and Adrian Stratton be each appointed as deputies for Phyllida Pyper, and Steve Ponting be appointed as deputy for Muriel Bullock on the Standards Sub-Committee.

5. Military Covenant Member Champions

- 5.1 A report to Strategy and Resources Committee was taken on the 13 June 2019 to agree that a Councillor would be appointed to champion the military covenant. Furthermore, it was agreed that the Head of Housing Services was tasked with being the Council's officer champion the military covenant. At Council on the 18 July 2019 it was agreed that the Chair and Vice-Chair of Council would undertake the Member Champion role as part of their civic duty.
- 5.2 The Vice-Chair of Council has asked to step back from this position and it is recommended that Cllr Loraine Patrick, who is herself a military veteran, takes up the role. Council is asked to consider appointing Cllr Loraine Patrick and the Chair of Council as Military Covenant Member Champions for the Civic Year 2022/23. Council is further recommended to confirm that the Strategic Director of Communities is appointed as the Councils Officer Champion.